Cookies In The Middle

Last night I had wine down by the river. In a silver thermos.
My friend and I walked the length of a ship that was docked across from a restaurant and we pretended there were doors on the side of the rig. We felt the ropes that tied the boat down. They were the size of my arms.
I stepped in a huge puddle and laughed with the geese. We stood on the playground boat and talked about where the boat would take us. It’s the same boat we stood on over a year ago on the last day I was in town.
I wore all green.
Half a bottle of wine and I was in for a good giggle. We walked to Tim Hortons to meet two other friends. My cheeks were rosy and the lighting in the place made my eyes feel funny.
I think the real purpose of this post is to talk about the three cookies that I ordered. I ordered two at first and set them down in the middle of the table for us all to snack on. I think I got about 4 bites pulled off in total. I gave my friend a toonie to get another one. Because I wanted more than four bites of two cookies. He came back with it and I set it in the middle again. If I wanted to eat it so bad I’m not sure why I did that. I pulled a piece off and we began chatting. Not even one minute later I went to have more of the cookie. There was one piece left. If anyone was looking at my face they would have noticed how surprised I was. I didn’t care much then. I really didn’t.
I thought of my three friends and how low it was to snag so much cookie from me. It’s simple and childish and I shoudn’t have put it in the middle. But I just figured it would be more shared. Like friends do, right?
I expected my friends to let the one that bought the cookie, eat at least half of it.
Anyhow,
I solved all this irritation today by going to Tim Hortons and buying two chocolate chip cookies.I ate them both slowly, and came to the conclusion that I was no longer going to put cookies in the middle of the table.

Leave a Reply

