A Change In Me

I’ve never liked doing chores. I suppose that’s the way it is with a lot of people. Even in my late teens and early twenties…Mom did the work. I was spoiled and it is probably why I don’t know how to iron shirts properly or clean toilets well. It is probably why flowers I recieve, die in a few days and my cooking skills are at zero.

Having a child kind of changes all that. I don’t feel that it HAS to change. I’ve heard some pretty hairy stories of woman having babies but who do not keep the house clean or safe.
Some mothers like to keep there place cleaner than others. Thats understandable.

But I’m talking about me here.

It wasn’t in my self to stand for 45 minutes finishing up dishes after dinner or vacumning at least once every week or doing laundry every other day. I don’t know where the guster comes from. When all I really want to do is sit in front of this computer box and tap away.
I know I’m pretty selfish. And so thats why this surprises me.

I’m handling this motherhood thing better than I thot i would. And i don’t even know for sure how i thought i would. I just feel different and better and greater of a person.

I guess I’ve embraced it.
I’ve discovered that I like clean things-specially when they are my own. My house, my clothes, my yard.

I didn’t know a baby would do this.
Did you?

 

Leave a Reply

