My Parents Anniversary

My parents anniversary is next month.
Something like 35 years.

Over the holidays of 2012, my father opened the mailbox and found divorce papers.

I was at my Aunts when my sister called.
She told me to call Mom.
So I called Mom.
Mom was 2 hours away.In a hotel.
Mom said maybe I shouldn’t go home.

I did
and spoke nothing of divorce to my Father.
He was quiet. And paced the floors like a natural professional.
And we didn’t go any nearer the topic.

He left the next morning. For Brazil.

My mom wanted him to get the papers before he left.
She did it without even telling him.

He came back earlier than planned. Before I left for Thailand.
And Mom and I sat in the basement as he entered the house and I went up to meet him and then he came down and I sat again and he stood and he began to cry.
He looked us in the eyes and said, ‘ I don’t want to leave ‘.
Our hearts crumbled together and we didn’t say much and I felt compassion and love and I wanted my parents to talk it through. .
So they did.

And that is why they will be able to celebrate there 35th anniversary next month.

Leave a Reply

