A Reason for Cynicsm?

I got a pedicure a few days ago. In a mall.
500 baht was the going price. 15 bucks Canadian.
It wasn’t on the form they had which told of what they had to offer. But me and owner discussed it and agreed on what was to be done for that price.

Looking back now, I am upset with the way I handled it.
I’m frustrated and embarrassed.
I shouldn’t have let it happen.
You would think I would know better since I’ve been here so long.

Once the hour long foot fantabulousizing session was over, I was led to the counter to pay. She proceeds to type in a number in the calculator and shove it towards me without making eye contact.
1200 it reads.
I’m completely taken aback but I act like I’m not and say, “it was 500”.

“no because …”

I don’t even know what her reasoning was. I can’t believe I even thought it made sense at the time?

But it somehow did.
And the lady that had done my nails was standing there all sweet and innocent. She had done a good job.

And I didn’t even look at her the whole time I was in front of the counter.

I had mumbled a few words, as I was reaching for my wallet, thinking that I understood.
I even handed her a tip!!

Once home, it all started clicking into place. How wrong and backwards and messed up that was.
When I first began to get my toes done she came around and had asked if I wanted to do my hands too, and it would be 1000 baht. For both pedi and mani.

So how in the heck??
I had got the basics of nail polish, no acrylic, no chillack or whatever the heck they call it…
And she had knew I was going for the simple.
Even writing about this occurance gets me all red hot again

It’s a reminder as to the reason of my cynicism towards this country .

It also is a very good picture as to how it’s changed me.
How I’ve become such a backboneless person. I can feel it in moments like that.
And I’m embarressed because I don’t like it at all.
It will not ever grow here. I know that now.

Leave a Reply

