The Drive Behind Living

We all want to stay young in mind and body and heart.
Except for those seven wazoos out there who dream at night of rocking back and forth on a creaking wooden chair in the wee hours of the morning with china tea cups and a mouthful of gums.

For the mind:
Keep up with technology.
Yeah. You may dislike it, find no need for it. But it’s probably just because you don’t understand it. Often times we shy away from things we do not understand.
But get your butt out there and learn the ways of todays communication system. You don’t have to be an avid user, but learn the basics and go from there. You’ll find yourself being less harsh to youngsters and others will find you more approachable. They just will. People can sense that kind of stuff.
Also for the mind, there’s all kinds of brain books, websites, instruments, problem solving type of deals. Make it a thing to do one a day. Keep your brain active.

Exercise is quite the obvious when it comes to the body. I won’t get much into that besides saying the following:
If you find walking or biking boring, create your own movement. Kite flying? Sure! Playing the trumpet and marching around your living room? Yes!

I save the heart for last because it’s my favourite.
And because I just figured it out the other day. And probably because its really the reason for this post.

Any of the young 65,70 year olds I’ve met. Are confident. Hilarious. WITH it. They can joke about themselves. They didn’t try and resist the parts of aging that they couldn’t stop. Wrinkles,bad hips, knees.. etc. They have aura of self around them and they’re exerting that effortlessly.

I just think I’m always going to be young in my heart because I’m not embarressed anymore of my faults. I’ve taken who I’ve created-after assessing and accepting- and grabbed on. I ain’t letting meself go, I am merely going to add more beautiful colours and strength to me and I’m going to do my darndest to keep up with the place I’m living in and all humanity I’m surrounded by.
That’s a good chunk of life right there and what better choice to make than to be open to learning and to be friends with everything, including best friends with yourself.
Because if you’re friends with self, you’re gonna wanna live a lot longer with you.
And the drive behind living is incredibly powerful.

 

 

 

Love yourself.

 

 

2 comments on “The Drive Behind Living

  1. A very lovely post and sound counsel

Leave a Reply

