The Struggle of Changing Yourself

If I could attach a phrase to the last four months of my life. It would be that of this post title.

I can feel on par, in line, mentally stable, eating the best carrots and drinking the most water one day and the next, I’m staying up late watching mindless YouTube videos and adding cinnamon sugar and chocolate chips to my popcorn.

I’ve learned one thing in the past few weeks and I can feel it has embedded itself into my system and that it will slowly grow and become bigger. It will be more of me as time goes on because I will choose for it consciously.

Even if I don’t exercise for three days, even if I falter at healthiness for a little bit of time, whether it be emotionally or mentally, I can MAKE IT a PART of my healthiness by starting again. I have done that enough times in the past month that I know that it works. That the term ‘starting again’ is merely ‘ continuing on in the right direction’. I feel happier because I’ve pushed through my lazy, wanna crumple into a heap of skin and blankets moments, and felt better again.

That’s a life lesson.

You’re going to fall down and your mind is going to feel upside down and your going to think your hearts’ contents will feel better off flattened and left for dead in the street. You will get into ruts, heck, you’ll even make them yourself, but you don’t have to make them deep.ย 
You will make your own ( when you look back on it ) distinguishable pace. Whether it’s 9 steps forward and 10 back, or forward 10 and 1 back. You have the capability to set that.

And that’s pretty darn amazing.

 

Self improvement is an infinity mile journey. How do you expect to make a dent of good if you continiously wallow in your minds negative thoughts that YOU are not only choosing to hold on to, but are making in the first place.
Get the struggle of ย bettering you under control so that you can admit, be aware, fight for and admire, the you that you are forever becoming.ย 

 

 

 

 

8 comments on “The Struggle of Changing Yourself

  1. Sounds to me like you have the perfect mindset to be successful at your goal!! You’re never a failure unless you quit. These tough moments, days weeks or even months are all stepping stones on their own right. You find strength you never knew you had in those moments. You persevere and you will learn SO much more about your breaking points and your own abilities, far beyond health, fitness and weight loss. The mind set I can tell you have is what everyone asks me about. “How do you find motivation?” I am sure you get this question a lot too. Once you grab hold of your momentum there’s no stopping you. Stumbles happen to all of us. ๐Ÿ™‚ You rock!!

    • Lively Life says:

      Thanks Amanda! Yeah- momentum, a good word for this. I feel I stepped up a month or two back and starting moving forward and it turned into the wonderful momentum all in itself because i was choosing to keep moving when i didnt feel like it. The power multiplied and now I feel closer to unstoppable. It is more of a lifestyle way to approach life instead of a quick fix, a diet that I know I always let peter out because its a DIET! Thanks for your awesome comment and koodos to you while im at it, for your weight loss and strength to keep going ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Thank you! I think anyone who makes health and fitness a lifestyle will always be a work in progress. Its essential to challenge yourself, do 1 more rep or get invokved in a new sport. It’s a healthy cycle that keeps us all going and motivating each other along the way. I am so fortunate to be involved in such an amazing, uplifting community

      • Lively Life says:

        Your enthusaism is awesome!!

  2. While it is certainly best to focus on the positives, we need to not completely forget our past pitfalls. We can’t learn from the lessons of our own lives if we bury those memories so deep that they can’t be a resource…

    That said, a positive outlook is essential for a positive future. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lively Life says:

      Why yes. Our past as learning. If there is a route of ‘forgetting past after one has learned from it’ I shall take that path versus forgetting completely before learning. I think i’m okay with forgetting the ‘negative of past’ because i think i’ve got the key from it. what good is empty baggage! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for your comment David. Postive outlook it is!

  3. Amy Newnham says:

    Someone I admire said they make choices based on who they aspire to be, not what they want in the moment…so you make choices based on the healthy person you want to be. It flipped my way of thinking a bit…

    • Lively Life says:

      Oh i like that. Thank you for sharing. Thats gonna change things for me too.
      Its like losing weight. They say to look and think on what you want tolook like. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

