It Tasted Like My Own Medicine

War in a bottle,
went down my throat last night
as I snacked on stars and waited for Dawn.

She approached me with fine colour
we were fine for a minute or two
and I’m sure all I saw was beauty
but I closed my eyes after awhile,
afraid I’d seen too much.

The drops stung when they hit my lungs
and I knew it was a good thing
I swallowed
my denial, avoidance and dishonesty
and when I swallowed
there was one thing more then justΒ Dawn and I.

 

 

 

There was Peace.

 

 

 

 

21 comments on “It Tasted Like My Own Medicine

  1. Hi! I love your blog and your poetry, I think it deserves some recognition, so I’m nominating you for the Blogger Recognition Award! See rules here: https://onmyjourneybab.wordpress.com/2016/07/15/blogger-recognition-award/
    Thank you for writing from the heart!
    -Brittany πŸ™‚

  2. Morgan says:

    Suburb well done

  3. Amazingly stunning and a pure deep poetic style and voice you have. Excellent writing. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

