Making Mistakes Okay

Kids will gravitate towards the parent that doesn’t overreact.
If I broke a dish, I would most always go to my Mom to tell her instead of my Dad.
If I crashed the four wheeler into a tree, I would hope my Dad wouldn’t see it and pretend it didn’t happen. The sneaking around and lying became a way just because I was too afraid to admit the truth to someone that would yell at me and make me feel awful for whatever happened. Things that were just accidents.  As a child the answer was easy. I didn’t need to put myself through something bad when I could just avoid it by not revealing.

 

I make mistakes okay. My son knows if he spills a box of nuts on the ground, he doesn’t need to hide it from me. He tells me when he’s ripped his pants or broke his remote control car. When he gets older, I’ll want him to feel he can come to me with problems or issues that maybe I won’t be too happy about, but I won’t flare up and put up walls where embrace and compassion are all he needs.

 

 

5 comments on “Making Mistakes Okay

  1. That’s the best way to be. My first husband was a shouter about things. The other day I was getting a joint of gammon out of the oven and dropped it, it rolled round the floor. John just laughed. Life is too short to sweat the small stuff. 😉

  2. Mr. Mel says:

    Mistakes are the salt and pepper for creativity.

Leave a Reply

