Choosing Need

I am shit at not doing what I need to do and great at doing what I want.
Last year I came to learn it,
this year I attempt doing it.
Situations where I need to make the choice that I need to.

I have to say that it hasn’t felt as freeing as I thought it would. Yes, there is some weight off my head and lightness in my heart, but there’s still this deep dissatisfaction.
That I let someone down. That I couldn’t be all that they envisioned me to be in their life.

I wonder if the more I choose to follow my heart, the less I’ll worry about keeping peace with people. I hope so because doing what I need to do shouldn’t be so difficult.

 

3 comments on “Choosing Need

  1. nbratscott says:

    I have recently came to a realization, finally(at age 62). I can’t be the person I want to be for those I love until I reach for what I need first. By attending to my needs I’m becoming the person I’ve always wanted to be. Don’t hesitate. YOUR NEEDS MATTER! Those around you will be better for it, also!

  2. It’s true you and your son should always come first 😉

Leave a Reply

